Gloria Montano

Gloria MontanoAfter graduating, Ms. Montano gained over 20 years of corporate experience that includes program management in software and operations, management of hardware and software teams involved in integrated circuit design, application-specific integrated circuit design, customer and field technical support, and marketing. Former employers include Compaq, Mentor Graphics, Teradyne EDA, Silicon Compilers Systems, and IBM.

In 2001, Ms. Montano left the private industry for the non-profit sector and joined the Anita Borg Institute for Women and Technology as Director of the Virtual Development Center (VDC). The VDC aims to find new and innovative ways to involve women and girls in all aspects of technology. It involves a unique partnership with prominent universities, leading hi-tech companies, and numerous local community groups.

Ms. Montano founded Eagle Mountain Associates in 2005 and now consults on issues related to women, engineering, technology, and community-based design.

Ms. Montano is a member of the Industry Advisory Committee for the Model Institutions for Excellence (MIE, research.utep.edu/mie) at the University of Texas at El Paso. MIE is an initiative sponsored by the National Science Foundation to increase the number of historically underrepresented minorities completing Masters and Ph.D. programs in Science, Engineering, and Mathematics.

Ms. Montano served on the Board of Directors of the National Center for Women in Science, Technology, Engineering, and Math. The National Center’s mission is to increase the reach and effectiveness of organizations and individuals seeking to advance women and girls in science, technology, engineering, and mathematics by providing valued services, resources, and venues that maximize individual creativity and interdependent cooperation and collaboration and synergism.

Ms. Montano received the Chairman’s Achievement Award from Mentor Graphics, the Distinguished New Engineer Award from the Society of Women Engineers, and the Outstanding Service Award from Silicon Compilers Incorporated.

  • SWE Fellow
  • SWE Distinguished New Engineer
  • Life Member of SWE
  • B.S.E.E., 1978, University of Texas at El Paso